Navas & Alex Morgan Clinched CONCACAF Awards

Navas & Alex Morgan Clinched CONCACAF Awards

The CONCACAF Awards (the “Awards”) are organized and presented by CONCACAF once a year.

The Awards are presented to recognize the top players, coaches and referees in women’s and men’s events from the CONCACAF region and for their respective achievements during the period beginning the first day of January of the current year, until the last day of the Nominations Period (as defined herein) of the same year (the “Eligible Period”).

The Awards honour players and achievements in CONCACAF-sanctioned tournaments and competitions involving the Confederation’s national teams at all levels, including FIFA World Cups and World Cup Qualifying for both genders, in all age categories. The Awards are bestowed according to on-field performance and overall behaviour on and off the pitch.

Alex Morgan

Performances also eligible for recognition include those achieved in professional club football leagues in the CONCACAF region, as well as the CONCACAF Champions League.

The awards are listed below
Male Player of the year-Keylor Navas, GK(Costa Rica/Real Madrid CF)

Keylor Navas’ impact in helping Real Madrid to numerous titles and Costa Rica to a berth in the 2018 FIFA World Cup has been recognized with the 2017 CONCACAF Male Player of the Year award – making him the first two-time winner in the accolade’s five-year history.

The 31-year-old goalkeeper was announced as the winner on Sunday night at the Premios Univision Deportes, a day after Real Madrid became the first team to repeat as FIFA Club World Cup champion.

Keylor Navas

In CONCACAF’s 56-year-existence, very few, if any, players enjoyed a 12-month more successful than Navas, who finished ahead of runner-up Hirving Lozano (PSV Eindhoven/Netherlands & Mexico) and third-place Andre Blake (Philadelphia Union/USA & Jamaica). The vote was equally-weighted between Member Association national team coaches/captains, media and fans.Navas was key in Costa Rica booking a ticket to Russia 2018, competing in seven CONCACAF Hexagonal matches and conceding six goals. The former Saprissa standout earned winners’ medals with Real Madrid in the UEFA Champions League, Spanish La Liga, UEFA Super Cup, Supercopa de España and FIFA Club World Cup.
Female Player of the Year-Alex Morgan(USA/Orlando Pride)

The United States international Alex Morgan became the first player to repeat as the CONCACAF Female Player of the Year in the honour’s five-year history when she was named the winner of the 2017 award on Sunday night at the Premios Univision Deportes.

As CONCACAF’s only three-time Female Player of the Year (2013, 2016, 2017), the 28-year-old forward enjoyed a memorable 12-month stretch on two continents. Prior to scoring nine goals in 13 games for the Orlando Pride in the National Women’s Soccer League, Morgan won multiple titles with Olympique Lyonnais: UEFA Women’s Champions League, French Division 1 Féminine and the Coupe de France Féminine. She also appeared in 14 games for the United States, scoring a team-best seven goals and registering two assists.

I just want to thank everyone who voted for me for CONCACAF Female Player of the Year. It’s such a great honour to be named this,” said Morgan. “To all the fans who followed me throughout France and to the U.S., thank you so much for all that motivation. It really means a lot.”

In a vote equally-weighted between Member Association national team coaches/captains, media and fans, Sky Blue FC forward Sam Kerr — an Australia international — and Portland Thorns FC/Canada star Christine Sinclair finished second and third, respectively.

The Other CONCACAF awards will be announced by Next week.