2017 Copa Libertadoes Champions: Grêmio

0 20

2017 COPA CONMEBOL Libertadores Champions – Grêmio

The 2017 Copa CONMEBOL Libertadores (officially the Copa CONMEBOL Libertadores Bridgestone 2017 for sponsorship reasons) was the 58th edition of the CONMEBOL Libertadores (also referred to as the Copa Libertadores or Copa Libertadores de América), South America’s premier club football tournament organized by CONMEBOL.

Atlético Nacional were the defending champions, but they were eliminated in the group stage.


The 2017 Copa Libertadores Finals were the two-legged final that decided the winner of the 2017 Copa Libertadores de América, which was organized by CONMEBOL.

The finals were contested in two-legged home-and-away format between Brazilian team Grêmio and Argentinian team Lanús. The first leg was hosted by Grêmio at Arena do Grêmio in Porto Alegre on 22 November 2017, while the second leg was hosted by Lanús at Estadio Ciudad de Lanús in Lanús on 29 November 2017.

The winners of the 2017 Copa Libertadores qualified as the CONMEBOL representative at the 2017 FIFA Club World Cup in the United Arab Emirates, and also earned the right to play against the winners of the 2017 Copa Sudamericana in the 2018 Recopa Sudamericana.

First Leg

Arena do Grêmio in Port Alegre hosted the first leg of the final which was the home stadium of Grêmio. Cícero scored the only goal in the 82th minute with a left foot shot from six yards out after Jael headed the ball on to him inside the penalty box.

Second Leg

With the 1 Goal Aggregate Grêmio has travelled to Lanús where the second leg of the Copa Libertadores Final to be held in Estadio Ciudad de Lanús, which is the home stadium of Lanús.


Diego Braghieri (Lanús) and Walter Kannemann (Grêmio) missed the second leg after picking up a yellow card in the first leg. Grêmio scored twice before half-time. Fernandinho stole the ball in Gremio’s half, ran freely toward Andrada’s goal and hammered it home from the edge of the box in the 26th minute. In the end of the first half, Luan dribbled through two Lanus defenders and lobbied the ball gently into the net. In the second half, José Sand scored from the penalty spot in the 71st minute.
This is the third time Grêmio had won the title in Copa Libertadores, Previously they had won the title in 1983 and in 1995.

This was the first time Lanús had reached final in the Copa Libertadores.