Mali vs Spain: All you need to know about this FIFA U17 World Cup Semi-final fixture

0 31

It’ll be the subtle passing football vs physical play when Spain face Mali in the U-17 World Cup semi-final in Navi Mumbai on Wednesday.

Attack and more attack is likely to be the flavour of the night with the two teams that started the World Cup battered and bruised, losing their first group games. By now, Mali have emerged as the tournament’s best attacking side while Spain are here with a couple of hard-fought wins that demonstrated some serious mental toughness on their part.

Match Details

Date: Wednesday, October 25
Time: 20:00 IST
Venue: Dr. DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai
Telecast: SONY TEN Network
Livestream: SONY LIV

Team News


A post shared by FIFA World Cup (@fifaworldcup) on

Mali have settled into a strong side after their shaky performances in the group stage. But their intense quarter final match against Ghana in the rain soaked Guwahati stadium,tell loads about their character and passion to win.

Star-striker Lassana N’Diaye has lived up to his hype by banging in five goals so far and looks favourite for the Golden Boot. Winger Djemoussa Traore has been electric on the wings despite his short stature while skipper Mohammed Camara has been at the heart of every Mali attack. Salam Jiddou has also been a calming influence in the midfield for the African Champions.


After their defeat against Brazil in the opening fixture, La Rojita have been in tremendous form and they have cruised past Iran to make to the last four.

Their forward line including Barcelona starlets Abel Ruiz and Sergio Gomez along with Ferran Torres has been a treat to watch as the Spanish have progressed in the tournament. Abel Ruiz has scored four goals till now and Spain will once again look up to him to fire in this crucial stage.

Potential Starting XI

Mali: Youssouf Koita (GK), Boubacar Haidara, Abdoulaye Diaby, Mamadou Samake, Ibrahiim Kane, Fode Konate, Salam Jiddou, Mohamed Camara, Djemoussa Traore, Hadji Drame, Lassana N’Diaye.

Spain: Alvaro Fernandez (GK), Hugo Guillamon, Victor Chust, Juan Miranda, Mateu Morey, Casar Gelabert, Mohamed Moukhliss, Antonio Blanco, Abel Ruiz, Sergio Gomez, Ferran Torres.