FIFA U 17 World Cup: All You Need To Know About Iraq vs Mexico Game

0 22

Two-time champions Mexico may be the heavyweights in Group F but they will face a strong opponent in Asian champions Iraq in their FIFA U-17 World Cup match here today.

Match Details:

Venue: Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan, Kolkata
Match Date and Time: Sun, 08 Oct 2017, 08:00 PM (IST), 3:30 PM (BST)
Broadcast Details:- Sony TEN in India, Fox Sports 2 in USA and Eurosport in UK


Since the 2005 edition in Peru, Mexico have been one of the most consistent sides of the tournament having won the title twice in a gap of six years, finishing runners-up in UAE in 2013 and being the semifinalists in Chile in the last edition.From striker Jairo Torres, who was top scorer at the 2017 CONCACAF U-17 Championships in April, to left-back Raul Zavala, all of Mexico’s players believe a win in their campaign opener against Iraq in Group F of the FIFA U-17 World Cup on Sunday has to end with them lifting the title.The ‘El Tri’ have won the trophy twice (2005, 2011) and will be eyeing a third crown along with Brazil, Ghana and France.

On the other hand, Iraq are one of six sides that have lost all their matches in their maiden and only appearance at the FIFA U-17 World Cup in 2013.This time their preparation was affected with a FIFA ban to play matches in the country, which was lifted only in May. But despite all odds, Iraq are here with a promise. Iraq qualified for this prestigious tournament after emerging victorious in the 2016 AFC U-16 Championship by defeating Iran in the final.

Line up:

Mexico (From): Goalkeepers: Víctor André Alcaráz Díaz, César Iván López De Alba and César Rafael Ramos Becerra.

Defenders: Alan Maeda Luevanos, Luis Alejandro Olivas Salcedo, Oscar Haret Ortega Gatica, Carlos Alejandro Robles Jiménez, Adrián Vázquez Hernández, Sergio Villarreal Lozano and Raúl Martín Sandoval Zavala.

Midfielders: Luis Javier Gamíz Ávila, Carlos Eduardo Guerrero Zavala, Alexis Hazael Gutiérrez Torres, Diego Laínez Leyva, Deivoon Alexander Magaña Rico, Jesús Andrés Pérez Álvarez and Marco Antonio Ruíz Zarco.

Forwards: Ían Jairo Misael Torres Ramírez, Roberto Carlos De la Rosa González, César Saúl Huerta Valera and Daniel Guadalupe López Valdez.

Iraq (From): Goalkeepers: Ali Ibadi (Air Force Athletic Club), Mustafa Zuhair (Naft Al-Wasat SC), Abdulazeez Ammar (Al Shorta SC)

Defenders: Ammar Mohammed (Al Talaba SC), Maytham Jabbar (Al Shola), Muntadher Mohammed (Al Kahraba), Muntadher Abdulsada (Al Hidood), Abdulabbas Ayad (Al Talaba SC), Mohammed Al-Baqer (Al Sina’a FC), Ali Raad (Al Hidood)

Midfielders: Habeeb Mohammed (Al Talaba SC), Saif Khalid (Al Talaba SC), Mohammed Ridha (Al Talaba SC), Abbas Ali (Al Hussein SC), Bassam Shakir (Al Karkh SC), Mohammed Ali (Al Nagda), Moamel Karim (Al Shorta SC), Ahmed Sartip (Gas Al Shemal)

Forwards: Mohammed Dawood (Al Naft SC), Ali Kareem (Baghdad FC), Alaa Adnaan (Al Nagda)