LNTUP

UCL Match Preview: RB Leipzig vs AS Monaco

0 43

It is an auspicious occasion for RB Leipzig as for the first time they will be playing in the most prestigious event, the UEFA Champions League. But Monaco has all the ingredients to spoil the party for RB Leipzig, as the French champions were semi finalists last season.

Match Details

UEFA Champions League Group-stage – Season 2017/18
Date: Wednesday, 13th September 2017
Kick-off at 19:45 UK/ 20:45 CET/ 00:15 IST (14th September)
Venue: Red Bull Arena.

Team News

RB Leipzig

By finishing as runner-up of the Bundesliga, Leipzig is to make their first appearance ever in the most prestigious competition.

They are currently the fourth-ranked in Germany, thanks to the two wins, after the initial loss. They are coming from a 0 – 2 win away against Hamburger SV.

Their team has recently been improved with a midfielder Kampl, who was transferred from Bayer Leverkusen for € 20M.

Monaco

Monaco is starting their competition in the group stage. Last year, they were eliminated in the semi-finals. Juventus defeated them with a combined score of 4 – 1.

They are coming from a loss away to Nice in French Ligue 1, which ended their streak of 5 consecutive wins. They are currently the second-ranked in France. Apparently, their team is in a good shape even though they are left without many valuable players such as Silva, Bakayako, Mendy, and most recently, without Mbappe. On the other hand, they brought some reinforcements to fill the voids, most recently, Jovetic from Inter and Keita Balde from Lazio.

Possible Starting Lineups

RB Leipzig

Formation: 4-2-2-2

Gulacsi – Klostermann, Orban, Upamecano, Halstenberg – Kampl, Demme – Sabitzer, Forsberg – Poulsen, Werner

Manager: Ralph Hasenhüttl

Monaco

Formation: 4-2-2-2

Subasic—Sidibé, Jemerson, Glik, Jorge— Moutinho, Fabinho—Lopes, Lemar—Diakhaby, Falcao

Manager: Leonardo Jardim