Match Preview: Macau Vs India

0 162

On the back of winning the recently concluded tri-nation series, the Indian football team is set to take on Macau in the third round of the 2019 AFC Asian Cup qualifier at the Macau Olympic Complex on Tuesday.

India have won all four of their qualifying matches so far, the wins coming against Laos in the playoff round, and Myanmar and Kyrgyzstan in the group stage of the third round. Stephen Constantine’s men are on the back of a friendly tri-nation series win, overcoming the likes of Mauritius and St. Kitts & Nevis to lift the title.

Macau, meanwhile, suffered disappointment as their friendly on 25th August with Malaysia got cancelled due to typhoon Hato, which has killed at least eight people.

Match Details:

Date: 5th September 2017
Start time: 5 PM IST
Venue: Macau Olympic Complex, Macau
Telecast: Star Sports 1, Star Sports HD1
Live streaming: Hotstar, Jio TV

Team News:

India: It’s been more than 17 months since India last lost an away game. Their last defeat away from home was against Iran in a 2018 World Cup qualifier. Since then, the Blue Tigers have beaten Laos, Cambodia and Myanmar on the road. India are the favourites over their lower ranked opponents, but football can surprise you from time to time. India are 86 places ahead of Macau in the latest FIFA rankings at 97th, while their opponents are stood at 183rd.

Macau: Tuesday’s match will be the first time India have faced Macau in international football history. With the weather set to play a major role in the dynamics of the game, India have their task cut out to make it three wins in three in the third round qualification stage. The Blue Tigers have already beaten Myanmar and Kyrgyzstan by the odd-goal in their previous two matches and would happily take home another similar result against Macau.Macau have conceded five goals in their two third round group stage matches so far, against Kyrgyzstan and Myanmar.


India: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Subrata Paul, Albino Gomes, Pritam Kotal, Lalruatthara, Sandesh Jhingan, Anas Edathodika, Arnab Mondal, Salam Ranjan Singh, Narayan Das, Jerry Lalrinzuala, Udanta Singh, Jackichand Singh, Nikhil Poojary, Eugeneson Lyngdoh, Rowllin Borges, Md. Rafique, Germanpreet Singh, Anirudh Thapa, Halicharan Narzary, Lalpekhlua, Sunil Chhetri, Robin Singh, Balwant Singh.

Macau: He Wenhui, Feng Zhiheng, Zheng Zhenjan, Liu Bajian, Chen, Shenghao, Li Zijian, Li Jiahao, Wu Yu, Cai, Maersk, Li Jia, Lin Yidong, Huang Hualin, Shanyan, Peng Zihen, Linga, He Zifeng, Zhang Haishan, Liang Jiaheng, Amway, Li Jinhong.