Mohunbagan derails 10-men Railways FC

Photo: Mohun Bagan
0 44

Today Mohunbagan derailed Railway FC in their homeground in their second match of Calcutta Premiere League. After winning their first match against Southern Samity Mohunbagan players were full of confidence. On the other hand Railway FC were trying to turn around after losing their first match against Tollygunge Agragami.

From the very beginning Mohunbagan started their first match by attacking through short passes. But Railway fc resisted Mohunbagan attacks with the help of their stubborn defence and Captain Rana Chakrabarty’s goalkeeping skills. All was going well for Railway fc until 32minutes. In the 32minute Mithun Saha, defender of Railway fc got marching order after getting second yellow card for fouling Kamo. Mohunbagan coach, Shankarlal Chakraborty wanted to utilise this numerical supremacy and brought on Azharuddin Mallick for Surchandra Singh.

Still Railway continued their resistance for the first half. In the second half Mohunbagan pressed harder to break the deadlock. During this time Kromah missed the easiest chance of the match. After recieving a through ball from Reynier Fernandes he hit the post with Rail goalkeeper Rana only in front of him. Mohunbagan succeded in breaking the Railways defence in the 65th minute. Chesterpaul Lyngdoh, right winger of Mohunbagan recieved the ball from Reynier Fernandes and took a drop shot. Rana failed to judge the shot and Mohunbagan got their first goal. Then Shankarlal brought on Shilton D Silva for Reynier Fernandes. In the 69th minute of the match Kamo cut into the box from right side, then outmuscled three Railways defenders and chipped over Rana to get his first goal in Mohunbagan jersey.

After conceding two goals Railway fc started attacking but Mohunbagan centre-back duo Kingshuk Debnath and Kingsley had no problem in keeping a clean sheet. In the 89th minute of the match Shilton D Silva scored his second goal and Mohunbagan’s third goal and penetrated the final nail in the coffin of Railways fc. Chesterpaul Lyngdoh was chosen as Man of the Match. Mohunbagan went to the top of the table with 6points and +6 goal difference.