LNTUP

Real Madrid vs Manchester United : Match Preview

0 691

Zinedine Zidane’s Champions League-winning side is set to take on José Mourinho’s Europa League winners in the UEFA Super Cup on Tuesday in Skopje, Macedonia.

Real Madrid are appearing in the tournament for the second consecutive year, having successfully defended their Champions League crown in June. Manchester United, meanwhile, are making their first appearance in the tournament since their 2-1 defeat against Zenit Saint Petersburg in 2008.

Temperatures in Skopje have hit as high as 40°C. Therefore, UEFA have permitted two cooling breaks to help players from both sides cope with the scorching heat during the game.

The Los Blancos will be keen to start their season with a silverware having endured a difficult pre-season. Manchester United, however, enjoyed a formidable pre-season tour winning six games out of seven. The two teams have already met this summer in a pre-season friendly at the International Champions Cup in California. The match ended 1-1 in the normal time, but United emerged triumphant on penalties.

Match Details:

Time: 14:45 (ET), 19:45 (BST), 20:45 (CEST), 00:15 (IST)

Potential Real Madrid XI: Navas; Carvajal, Ramos, Nacho, Hernández; Casemiro, Kroos, Modrić; Bale, Ronaldo Benzema

Potential Manchester United XI: De Gea; Valencia, Lindelöf, Smalling, Blind; Matić, Herrera, Pogba, Mkhitaryan; Martial, Lukaku

Last meeting: Manchester United 1-2 Real Madrid (2013)

A post shared by Real Madrid C.F. (@realmadrid) on


Cristiano Ronaldo returned to Real Madrid training after enjoying an extended vacation due to his involvement in the Confederations Cup. Ronaldo, along with Gareth Bale and Karim Benzema, is included in the squad and may feature in the starting 11. New signings Theo Hernández and Dani Ceballos could be handed starting places.

Eric Bailly, who is serving a two-game suspension after his red card against Celta Vigo, is set to miss the game for United. Phil Jones is also serving a suspension for verbally abusing UEFA’s anti-doping regulations. Sergio Romero and Jesse Lingard are doubtful having missed the final pre-season friendly against Sampdoria. However, new inclusions Nemanja Matić, Romelu Lukaku and Victor Lindelöf are expected to make their competitive debuts against Real Madrid.