FPAI to play charity match for Mizoram flood victims at Aizawl

Photo: FPAI
0 33

Football Players’ Association of India will play a charity match at Aizawl to help the victims of the Mizoram flood which caused havoc in this part of the country a few days ago.

FPAI XI will play an exhibition match against Mizoram FA XI on 1st July and the proceeds from the exhibition match to be organised bt the Football Players Association of India (FPAI) and the Mizoram Football Association will be donated to aid the victims of the flash flood and landslides in Mizoram.

Bhaichung Bhutia, the first ever FPAI president said,

“We are aware of the recent tragedies in Mizoram. The FPAI might not ample funds but we want to help in any way we can. We want to hand all the proceeds from this event to the state government, and we may have the FPAI Awards on the field if we have to.”

“Although this event is jointly organised by the FPAI and the MFA, this match is solely for the FPAI. They have made the decision to donate all the proceeds to the victims of recent tragedies in Mizoram. The MFA wholeheartedly supports this decision and is very pleased that the best players in the country will visit our state and play against the best players of our state.” said MFA Honorary Secretary Lalghinglova Hmar.

The FPAI and Mizoram XI match will take place on on July 1, 2:30 PM at Rajiv Gandhi Stadium. Tickets will be priced at Rs. 100/- and Rs. 200/-

The MFA has also made the final selection for players who will represent Mizoram XI. 6 players from the Mizoram team for Santosh Trophy 2017 will join up with players in the I-League and Indian Super League.
However, the 8 Mizo talents recently called up for the Indian Under 23 team will not be able to take part in this exhibition.


1. Lalthuammawia, Bengaluru FC
2. Lalmuanawma, Chanmari FC


3. Zohmingliana, Aizawl FC
4. Robert Lalthlamuana, East Bengal
5. Sena Ralte, Bengaluru FC
6. Lalrinchhana Tochhawng, Chanmari FC
7. Lalrinzuala Khiangte, Aizawl FC
8. Lalchhuanmawia, ONGC, Mumbai
9. Lalhmunmawia, Mizoram Police FC


10. S Malsawmtluanga, Southern Samiti
11. Lalrindika Ralte, East Bengal
12. R Laldanmawia, Aizawl FC
13. Malsawmzuala, Bengaluru FC
14. Lalrinchhana, Chanmari FC
15. Lalfakzuala, Mizoram Police FC
16. Brandon VL Remdika, Aizawl FC


17. Jeje Lalpekhlua, Mohun Bagan
18. Samuel Lalmuanpuia,, Shillong Lajong
19. F Lalrinpuia, Mizoram Police FC
20. William Lalnunfela, Aizawl FC

*Clubs of players are displayed as per their registration for the last competitive match played.

Manager – R Lalramzauva
Asst Manager – RK Rozidinga
Coach – Danny Lalduhawma
Asst Coach – Samson Ramengmawia
Physio – Abhisag

The winners of the Indian Football Awards will also be felicitated by FPAI on the same day. Previously the Aizawl FC duo of Ashutosh Mehta and Jayesh Rane donated to the above cause but such united effort by the Indian footballing fraternity to help the calamity stricken people is rare.