Champions League 2017-18: The 22 automatically qualified teams

0 37

The Champions League 2016-17 season saw another journey of epic proprotions. From the surprise package of Leicester City (once again) to the exquisite attacking display of AS Monaco, from the sheer brilliance of an 18-year-old to the eternal masterclass of a soon to be 40-year-old, the season had it all. And so the finale was a fitting tribute that pitted the ever present Real Madrid against the vintage Juventus.

Congratulations to Real Madrid on winning their 12th European title and becoming the first side ever to defend the Champions League title.

As the season drew to an end, the journey to a brand new season began that promises to be even better. We take a look at the 22 teams that have already qualified for the group stages of next season’s Champions League.

1. Real Madrid (Spain)

Full Name – Real Madrid Club de Fútbol
Status – Defending champions and La Liga winners

2. Chelsea (England)

Full Name – Chelsea Football Club
Status – Premier League champions

3. Juventus (Italy)

Full Name – Juventus Football Club S.p.A.
Status – Serie A champions

4. FC Barcelona (Spain)

Full Name – Futbol Club Barcelona
Status – La Liga runner-up

5. Bayern München (Germany)

Full Name – Fußball-Club Bayern München e.V.
Status – Bundesliga champions

6. AS Monaco (France)

Full Name – Association Sportive de Monaco Football Club
Status – Ligue 1 champions

7. Manchester United (England)

Full Name – Manchester United Football Club
Status – Europa League champions

8. SL Benfica (Portugal)

Full Name – Sport Lisboa e Benfica
Status – Primeira Liga champions

9. Spartak Moscow (Russia)

Full Name – Football Club Spartak-Moscow
Status – Russian Premier League champions

10. RB Leipzig (Germany)

Full Name – RasenBallsport Leipzig e.V.
Status – Bundesliga runner-up

11. Tottenham Hotspur (England)

Full Name – Tottenham Hotspur Football Club
Status – Premier League runner-up

12. Atlético Madrid (Spain)

Full Name – Club Atlético de Madrid, SAD
Status – 3rd place finish in La Liga

13. AS Roma (Italy)

Full Name – Associazione Sportiva Roma
Status – Serie A runner-up

14. Paris Saint-Germain (France)

Full Name – Paris Saint-Germain Football Club
Status – Ligue 1 runner-up

15. Manchester City (England)

Full Name – Manchester City Football Club
Status – 3rd place finish in Premier League

16. Feyenoord (Netherlands)

Full Name – Feyenoord Rotterdam
Status – Eredivisie champions

17. Borussia Dortmund (Germany)

Full Name – Ballspielverein Borussia 09 e.V. Dortmund
Status – 3rd place finish in Bundesliga

18. Shakhtar Donetsk (Ukraine)

Full Name – Football Club Shakhtar Donetsk
Status – Ukrainian Premier League champions

19. FC Porto (Portugal)

Full Name – Futebol Clube do Porto
Status – Primeira Liga runner-up

20. Beşiktaş (Turkey)

Full Name – Beşiktaş Jimnastik Kulübü
Status – Süper Lig champions

21. RSC Anderlecht (Belgium)

Full Name – Royal Sporting Club Anderlecht
Status – Belgian Pro League champions

22. FC Basel (Switzerland)

Full Name – FC Basel 1893
Status – Swiss Super League champions

The group stage draw will take place on August 24, 2017.