Francesco Totti wins the 2017 UEFA President’s Award

Photo: Getty Images
0 23

UEFA president Aleksander Čeferin has chosen to honour Francesco Totti with the 2017 UEFA President’s Award in recognition of his outstanding 25 years of service to football and his exemplary loyalty to AS Roma.

Totti brought an end to his 25-year career with Roma on Sunday as he came on as a substitute in th 54th minute in their 3-2 home victory over Genoa.

Totti will receive the award at a ceremony to be held in August and joins the illustrious list of players including Franz Beckanbauer, Sir Bobby Charlton and the late Johan Cruyff to receive the award.

Čeferin said in a statement while addressing the media ahead of the Champions League final between Juventus and Real Madrid:

“The President’s award recognises outstanding achievements, professional excellence and exemplary personal qualities. These attributes are personified by Francesco Totti — a man who has given around a quarter of a century of his life playing for his beloved AS Roma.”

“Congratulations, Francesco, for a fantastic career and for your extraordinary loyalty and dedication, to Roma and to football.”

Totti was quick to express his gratitude and published a post on his official Facebook page:

“I want to thank UEFA and President Čeferin for the President’s Award,” Totti wrote on his official Facebook page. “It’s such an honour to read my name among those of the great sportsmen of the past.

“It’s a pleasure to see that my loyalty to Roma’s jersey has been recognised internationally.”

After making his debut as a 16-year-old in March 1993, Totti made 786 appearances in all competitions for Roma, scoring 307 times. Totti further led Roma to a Serie A title, two Coppa Italia titles and two Italian Super Cups while also winning the 2006 FIFA World Cup with Italy.

Roma have offered Totti a six-year directorship at the club, but Totti is yet to confirm his future as he hasn’t yet announced his retirement from football.


1998: Jacques Delors (European Commission, France)
1999: None
2000: Guy Roux (France)
2001: Juan Santisteban (Spain)
2002: Sir Bobby Robson (England)
2003: Paolo Maldini (Italy)
2004: Ernie Walker (Scotland)
2005: Frank Rijkaard (Netherlands)
2006: Wilfried Straub (Germany)
2007: Alfredo Di Stéfano (Spain)
2008: Sir Bobby Charlton (England)
2009: Eusébio (Portugal)
2010: Raymond Kopa (France)
2011: Gianni Rivera (Italy)
2012: Franz Beckenbauer (Germany)
2013: Johan Cruyff (Netherlands)
2014: Josef Masopust (Czech Republic)
2015: None
2016: None
2017: Francesco Totti (Italy)