LNTUP

Chelsea vs Middlesborough Match Preview

0 21

Chelsea host Middlesbrough at Stamford Bridge when they are on the edge of winning the title as they are only 2 wins away from clinching the title.

The Blues passed their toughest remaining test with flying colours last weekend by seeing off Everton 3-0 at Goodison Park, and they now have a favourable run of remaining fixtures to get home and dry.

http://gty.im/675317192

 

There will be no let up from the league leaders with the finishing line in sight, though Antonio Conte will be wary of the potential absence of David Luiz and N’Golo Kanté after knocks. “There will be two teams desperate for a result on Monday,” said the Italian. “For this reason, we will see a really good game on Monday.”

Boro may have shown signs of improvement, but it is all too little, too late and now three wins are needed from meetings with Chelsea (A), Southampton (H) and Liverpool (A) or else they will have to prepare for another campaign of second-tier football.

http://gty.im/675202100

 

Time is not officially up for Boro, in the same way that Chelsea are not officially yet over the line as champions, but should Agnew’s men fall to an expected defeat this weekend then the final nail will be in the coffin.

Match Details

Date: Monday, May 8
Time: 8 p.m. BST/3 p.m. ET/ 20.00 GMT/ 00.30 IST (Tuesday)
Venue: Stamford Bridge
TV Info: Sky Sports 1 (UK), NBCSN (U.S.), Star Sports Select HD 1
Live Stream: Sky Go, NBC Sports Live

Team News

Chelsea:

Chelsea centre-back David Luiz limped off as the Blues beat Everton 3-0 last time out. However, the initial reaction from Conte was positive, and he could be available for Monday, per ESPN FC’s Ben Dinnery:

Middlesbrough:

Daniel Ayala, Victor Valdes and Grant Leadbitter, meanwhile, all remain doubts for Boro after the trio missed their recent 2-2 draw with Manchester City, per ITV News.

Chelsea possible starting lineup: Courtois; Azpilicueta, Zouma, Cahill; Moses, Fabregas, Matic, Alonso; Pedro, Costa, Hazard

Middlesbrough possible starting lineup: Guzan; Fabio, Chambers, Gibson, Friend; De Roon, Clayton, Forshaw; Downing, Negredo, Ramirez

Head to Head

  • Matches Played: 115
  • Chelsea won: 55
  • Middlesbrough won: 31
  • Matches Drawn: 29