LNTUP

Sporting Gijón vs Real Madrid Match preview

0 7

After an enthralling comeback against Bayern München at the Allianz Arena in the mid-week, Real Madrid will be visiting El Molinón to take on Sporting Gijón on Saturday afternoon.

Date: 15 April, 2017
Time: 14:15 (GMT), 15:15 (CET), 19:45 (IST)Time: 14:15 (GMT), 15:15 (CET), 19:45 (IST)
Venue: Estadio El Molinón, GijónVenue: Estadio El Molinón, Gijón

Team news

Sporting Gijón

Sporting Gijón, who are struggling to avoid relegation as they sit 18th in the league table, are 5 points adrift of safety. Forward Burgui will be missing the game against his former side due to suspension. However, there are no other notable injury or suspension issues in the Sporting camp.

http://gty.im/667783694

 

Coach Rubi knows that it will be an uphill task against the reigning European champions but has insisted that his side is capable of producing an upset.

Sporting Gijón squad: Iván Cuéllar, Diego Mariño; Jean-Sylvain Babin, Jorge Meré, Fernando Amorebieta, Elderson Echiéjilé, Roberto Canella, Lillo, Isma López; Sergio Álvarez, Nacho Cases, Carlos Carmona, Dani Ndi, Xavi Torres, Mikel Vesga, Moi Gómez; Carlos Castro, Akram Afif, Duje Čop

Real Madrid

Zinedine Zidane has decided to rest Cristiano Ronaldo, Karim Benzema and Keylor Navas for this game. Gareth Bale (calf muscle), Pepe (ribs) and Raphaël Varane (hamstring) are other notable absentees due to injury. Dani Carvajal will not be featuring as well, because of suspension. With so many first teamers missing, James Rodríguez, Álvaro Morata, Mateo Kovačić, Marco Asensio, Isco, Lucas Vázquez are expected to be given ample playing time and the Los Blancos will be determined to maintain their 3 points lead over FC Barcelona.

http://gty.im/668384644

 

Real Madrid squad: Kiko Casilla, Rubén Yáñez; Sergio Ramos, Nacho, Marcelo, Fábio Coentrão, Danilo, Álvaro Tejero; Toni Kroos, James Rodríguez, Casemiro, Mateo Kovačić, Luka Modrić, Marco Asensio, Isco; Lucas Vázquez, Mariano, Álvaro Morata

Sporting Gijón’s form in last 5 games: D W D L L
Real Madrid’s form in last 5 games: W W W D W

Last meeting: Real Madrid 2-1 Sporting Gijón (26 November, 2016)