Shillong Lajong FC vs Mohun Bagan A.C Match Preview

0 21

The coach had chalked out a plan and the players executed it perfectly. It was as simple as that for Sanjoy Sen’s Mohun Bagan they outclassed East Bengal 2-1 in the return leg of I-League’s Kolkata Derby at the Kanchenjunga Stadium here on Sunday. The Green & Maroons, however, could have easily won by a much bigger margin.

Date: April 12, 2017
Time: 16:30 ( I.S.T. )
Venue: Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Shillong
TV Details: Ten 2 ( India )
Live Stream: Sony LIV App, Jio TV

For high flying Mohun Bagan, there’s no time to relax. Having beaten East Bengal in a crucial derby in Siliguri on Sunday, Sanjoy Sen’s men face another tricky test when they play Shillong Lajong FC in their den here on Wednesday.

Shiliguri turns green and maroon after kolkata derby

Second-placed Mohun Bagan, with 29 points from 14 games, trail Aizwal FC by a point, with a game in hand too. A win on Wednesday will put them two points clear atop the table, but even if they bag a solitary point, the Green and Maroons will leapfrog Aizwal FC as they have a head-to-head advantage over the Mizoram side.

Shillong Lajong FC, who are fourth with 23 points from 14 matches, are no longer in the contention of this title.

Shillong Lajong FC
Photo: AIFF

Both teams are on a hot streak. Lajong have won three of their last five games including a thrilling 3-2 verdict over DSK Shivajians in their last match with all the three goals being scored by U-22 players. Mohun Bagan, on the other hand, beat Bengaluru FC and Abahani Dhaka ( AFC 2017 ) before outplaying East Bengal two days ago, thanks to spectacular strikes from Sony Norde and 19 year old Azharuddin Mallick.

With no injury worries bothering them, both coaches can plan their favoured strategy with the best combination. Bagan’s U-22 defender Subhasis Bose may be fit to play, but is unlikely to get a start after fellow U-22 player Mallick’s dazzling display in Siliguri.

Sen is expected to start with the same 11 that did duty against East Bengal, with Duffy and Balwant Singh playing up front, Sony and skipper Yusa spearheading the midfield. The task of containing Aser Dipanda Dicka, the league’s top scorer with 9 goals, will fall on the quartet of Eduardo Ferreira, Anas Edathodika, Raju Gaikwad and Pritam Kotal.