AIFF Launches Women’s Football League with six participants

0 11

All India Football Federation launched launched first ever Women’s professional league today ( 24 January 2017), which is to be contested by 6 teams.

The league will commence on 28th January 2017. All matches of the Indian Women’s League (IWL) will be played at Ambedkar stadium , Delhi.The teams will play each other in round-robin format, with top four teams advancing into the semi finals.

AIFF Launches Women's Football League with six participants

AIFF President Shri Praful Patel along with Shri Vijay Goel ,Minister of State (I/C) Youth Affairs and Sports, representatives of the six participating Teams, as well as Ms. Sakshi Malik were present on the occasion.
20 teams from different parts of the country  took part in the first leg of the qualifiers from which 9 Teams qualified for the IWL prelims which were held in Cuttack ,back in October 2016.

The six participating teams are,

FC Alakhpura (Haryana)

Jeppiaar Institute of Technology FC (Puducherry)

Aizawl FC (Mizoram)

FC Pune City (Maharashtra)

Rising Student Club (Odisha)

Eastern Sporting Union (Manipur)